Welcome ! I am a harpist living in Switzerland. My musical activity goes from teaching to playing – in classical orchestra to jazz bands. Check out my next concerts and my videos and don’t hesitate to contact me for a trial harp lesson (live or online!). Enjoy the browse!

 

 

 

Next concerts

27th May 2021 Geneva Camerata www.genevacamerata.com
5th June 2021 Duo with Cécile Unternährer @Unterbäch https://sp-frauen.ch/
5th july 2021 Madame Vote! @galerie YD Neuchâtel / https://www.leslundisdesmots.ch/
7th july 2021 Madame Vote! @Punto Rosso Poschiavo / www.madamevote.com
13th july 2021 Madame Vote! @KuKaB Basel / www.madamevote.com / www.kukab.ch
14th july 2021 Madame Vote! @KuKaB Basel / www.madamevote.com / www.kukab.ch
16th july 2021 Madame Vote! @Domaine des Bonnettes Lully (GE) / www.madamevote.com

 

Pictures

Curriculum

Esther Sévérac was born in Geneva and is currently based in Basel, Switzerland, working as a free-lance harpist with a repertoire reaching from classical solo concerts to jazz ensembles. She regularly collaborates with saxophone player Niko Seibold (duo harp and saxophone Harpkissax and jazz quartet Niko Seibold’s European Song)  and flutist Anne-Lise Teruel (Duo Estival). She is also the co-founder of the music theater quartet Les Baronnes Underground (percussion, drumset, flute, harp) where she extends her capacities to singing, acting, arranging music and playing different instruments.

 

In these different ensembles she keeps experimenting with harp amplification and sound effects. Furthermore it gives her the opportunity to play in uncommon places for harpists such as Bird’s Eye Basel, Rössli Bern, Jazz Club Uster, Monkey Bar Basel, Boui Boui Festival Brenzikofen, Geneva Airport , Café Con Letras Basel, JazzCampus Basel, Giardini Incantati Poschiavo and many more. 

 

Classical performances as a soloist include collaborations with the Basel Symphony Orchestra, I Medici Orchestra Basel and Sinfonietta Dachau. She also performs harp recitals with diverse and individual programs, mixing existing harp repertoire with improvisations and singing. She’s principal harpist of the Geneva Camerata since 2019 and performs regularly with professional orchestras (Sinfonieorchester Basel, Sinfonietta Basel, Kammerorchster Basel). She was principal harp in the Swiss Youth Symphony (SJSO) from 2010 to 2015.

 

She studied the harp at the Music Academy Basel with renowned harpist Prof. Sarah O’Brien and holds two master degrees in solo harp performance and music pedagogy. She participated in masterclasses with famous harpists such as Xavier De Maistre, Isabelle Moretti, Skaila Kanga, Emmanuel Ceysson, Jana Bouskova, Ursula Holliger or Susann McDonald. She also had the opportunity to take single lessons with pianist Lester Menezes at the Jazz Campus Basel and to play in classical/jazz crossover projects conducted by Guillermo Klein. She frequently takes jazz harp lessons with Park Stickney and is a multiple participant in his workshop « Jazz Harp Camp » near Yverdon/CH. 

 

Being a very dedicated educator with a lot of experience, she teaches a number of private students in Basel in her own harp studio (www.harfenstudio.ch). Prior to her academic career as a harp student Esther earned a bachelor’s degree in multilingual communication from the University of Geneva. 

Projects

 

Solo

Esther regularly plays solo with a varied and interesting repertoire. She experiments with electronics combined with the harp and creates new music for her instrument.
View Video >>>>

 

Duo Estival

The members of the Duo Estival, which is based in Basel, are Anne-Lise Teruel (flute, alto flute, piccolo) and Esther Sévérac (pedal harp, celtic harp, voice). The two musicians met during their studies in Basel and began playing together in 2011. Since then, they have built a varied and inspired repertoire and play regularly in concert. Next to the existing repertoire for flute and harp, they play their own arrangements and are always curious to find new combinations of their different instruments.

View Video >>>>

Duo Harpkissax

Harp and Saxophone – a kiss between two worlds. Even more: classical and jazz music embrace Folk and Pop songs – delicate strings set ground for strong wooden metal and fragile wind set on fire by harp bop!

Niko Seibold – Alto & Soprano Saxophone & others
Esther Sévérac – Harp, voice, what else?

View video >>>>

 

Les Baronnes Underground

The « Baronnes Underground » are a music/theatre quartet. Band members are Cécile Unternährer (percussion, mallets), Anne-Lise Teruel (flutes), Anna Tuena (percussion, drumset), and Esther Sévérac (harp). They play their own compositions and arrangements and their inspiration comes from everywhere – they like to try other instruments (melodica, cazoo, electric harp), sing and experiment. They’re always looking for original projects and an element of surprise!

View video >>>>

Orbitarium

Coming from the blue planet with its instruments harp, bass guitar and drums on board, Orbitarium’s sound probe is moving through interstellar space. A journey through the infinite cosmos, seeking for unknown laws, transforming surroundings, undiscovered soundscapes and unexplored worlds.

View video >>>>

 

 

Teaching

 

Esther Sévérac has a Master diploma in pedagogy since june 2015. She gives private harp lessons in Basel at her own harp school Harfenstudio.ch. She also gives online lessons since they work very well and can be extremely useful to student and teacher. She is open to all musical styles (classical, pop, jazz, celtic, or other) and teaches on celtic or on pedal harps. She matches the level and pace of the learner and will adapt herself to your needs.

If you are interested in discovering this magical instrument, don’t hesitate to contact her for a first trial lesson. Learning music is without age limit !

Benefits

 

  • A harp is provided for the lessons
  • Lessons can take place online!
  • First trial lesson for CHF 40.-
  • Lessons in french, german or english
  • Advice for the instrument maintenance, tuning and position
  • Advice about harp methods and music pieces
  • Cheerful atmosphere!
  • More info: www.harfenstudio.ch

30 min.

50 CHF

45 min.

75 CHF

60 min.

100 CHF 

 

Music

 

Domenico Scarlatti – Sonata in A Major K208
recorded in 2019

Guillaume Connesson – Toccata for solo harp
recorded in 2019

 

The Skye Boat Song – Outlander Music
recorded in 2019

Duo Harpkissax

 

The alien dog
recorded in 2019

Original composition by Esther for harp & effects

La lune est morte – Niko Seibold’s European Song Quartet
recorded in 2019

live @ Tis Jazz Fest Basel

Orbitarium live @PROGR Bern
recorded in 2018

Orbitarium Band – drums, harp, e-bass

 Le pudding à L’Arsenic
recorded in 2017

performed by les Baronnes Underground

 

 

TeleBasel  – Esther’s interview in TeleBar
recorded in 2015

in preparation of the Ginastera Concerto

telebaselcapture

Esther Sévérac lebt als freischaffende Harfenistin in Basel (Schweiz). 
Sie ist als Solo-, Ensemble-, Jazz-, Orchestermusikerin und als Lehrerin tätig.  Sie spielt gerne bei privaten Anlässen wie Hochzeiten, Taufen, Vernissagen oder sonstigen Festen und Gelegenheiten.
Haben Sie Spass beim Stöbern durch die zahlreichen Saiten.

 

Nächste Konzerte

14. Dez '19 Oratorio de Noël von Camille Saint-Saëns / Katholische Kirche Gelterkinden  / 19.30
14. Dez '19 Oratorio de Noël von Camille Saint-Saëns / Katholische Kirche Pratteln  /18.00
26. Jan '20 Russisches Gebet / Theater Basel/ Musiker des Sinfonieorchesters Basel / 11.00 / Infos
28. Jan' 20 Niko Seibolds European Song / Atlantis Basel
28. Feb' 20  Nirvana Forever / mit Geneva Camerata / Théâtre de Carouge / 21.00 / Infos
4. März '20 Duo Harpkissax and Jonas Herpichböhm / Jazz in Heppenhein / Infos
12. März '20 Le Jardin des Rêves / mit Geneva Camerata /BFM Genève / 20.00 / Infos
3. April '20 A Night in Nashville / mit Geneva Camerata / Théâtre de Carouge / 21.00 / Infos

Fotos

Lebenslauf

Die in Genf aufgewachsene Esther Sévérac ist eine der aufstrebenden Harfenistinnen in der Schweiz. Sie lebt in Basel und ist dort sowohl in der klassischen Musik als auch im Jazz tätig, wo sie regelmässig mit dem Saxophonisten Niko Seibold spielt (Duo Harpkissax, Jazz-Quartett Niko Seibold’s European Song) und mit ihrem elektroakustischen Improvisations-Trio Orbitarium (Drums, Bass, Harfe). Ihr aktives klassisches Ensemble ist das Duo Estival mit der Flötistin Anne-Lise Teruel. Sie ist auch Mitbegründerin des Musiktheater-Quartetts Les Baronnes Underground (Schlagzeug, Perkussion, Harfe, Flöte) wo sie nicht nur Harfe spielt, sondern auch mit Gesang und Schauspiel in Erscheinung tritt. 

 

Sie experimentiert mit Verstärkung der Harfe und mit Effekten und konnte durch ihre verschiedenen Bands bereits an einigen für eine Harfenistin ungewöhnlichen Orten auftreten, wie Bird’s Eye Basel, Rössli Bern, Jazz Club Uster, Monkey Bar Basel, Boui Boui Festival Brenzikofen, Flughafen Genf, Café Con Letras Basel, JazzCampus Basel, Giardini Incantati Poschiavo u.a.

 

Also Solistin ist sie u.a. mit dem Sinfonieorchester Basel, dem Basler Orchester « I Medici » und der Sinfonietta Dachau aufgetreten. Rezitale mit eigenem ausgewähltem Programm gehören ebenfalls zu Ihrer solistischen Aktivität. Sie ist seit 2019 festes Mitglied des Genfer Orchesters Geneva Camerata und regelmässig Zuzügerin bei professionellen Orchestern (Sinfonieorchester Basel, Basel Sinfonietta, Kammerorchester Basel). Sie hatte zudem von 2010 bis 2015 die Position der Soloharfe im Schweizer Jugendsinfonieorchester SJSO inne.

 

Die Studiengänge Solo-Performance und Pädagogik hat sie jeweils im Master bei der renommierten Harfenistin Sarah O’Brien an der Musikakademie Basel abgeschlossen. Ihr Studium gab ihr die Möglichkeit, an vielen Meisterkursen berühmter Harfenisten teilzunehmen wie Xavier de Maistre, Isabelle Moretti, Skaila Kanga, Emmanuel Ceysson, Jana Bouskova, Ursula Holliger oder Susann McDonald.  Durch Ihr Studium in Basel hatte sie auch das Glück, am renommierten Jazzcampus Basel Unterricht bei dem Pianisten Lester Menezes zu haben und dort unter der Leitung von Guillermo Klein an Cross-Over Projekten zwischen Jazz und Klassik teilzunehmen. Sie nimmt Stunden beim berühmten Jazz-Harfenisten Park Stickney und war mehrmals Teilnehmerin an seinem Workshop « Jazz Harp Camp » bei Yverdon (CH). 

 

Sie gibt privaten Harfenunterricht in Basel und unterrichtet ebenfalls an der Musik-Akademie MCA Neuenburg und an der Musikschule Stein (AG). Vor Ihrem Musikstudium konnte sie zudem einen Bachelor in Übersetzung an der Universität Genf erwerben.

Projekte

 

Solo

Esther ist eine Harfenistin mit großem musikalischen Interessengebiet.  Neben einem umfangreichen klassischen Repertoire für die Konzertharfe, machen auch Volks-, Unterhaltungs- und zeitgenössiche Musik einen Teil ihres Soloangebots aus. Sie gibt auch regelmäßig Solokonzerte an der Konzertharfe oder der Klappenharfe. Sie singt ebenfalls und begleitet sich dazu selber an der Harfe.

Zum Video >>>>

 

 

 Duo Estival

Zum Duo Estival gehören Anne-Lise Teruel (Querflöte, Altflöte, Piccolo) und Esther Sévérac (Pedalharfe, Klappenharfe, Stimme). 2010 lernen sich die beiden Musikerinnen im Rahmen ihres Studiums an der Musikhochschule Basel kennen und spielen seit 2011 zusammen. Sie haben seitdem ein großes und unterhaltsames Repertoire aufgebaut und geben regelmäßig Konzerte. Sie sind beide immer neugierig, neue Seiten und neue Kombinationen ihrer verschiedenen Instrumente zu entdecken.

Zum Video >>>>

 Duo Harpkissax

Harfe küsst Saxophon, Klassik küsst Jazz – und Pop mischt sich ein. Zarte Saitenresonanz trifft matten Messingglanz, engelsgleicher Saxophongesang trifft röhrenden Harfenbop – und umgekehrt!

Niko Seibold – Alt- und Sopransaxophon und?
Esther Sévérac – Harfe, Gesang, was noch?

Zum Video >>>>

 

Les Baronnes Underground

Les Baronnes Underground » sind ein Musiktheaterquartett. Band-Mitglieder sind Cécile Unternährer (Perkussion, Mallets), Anne-Lise Teruel (Flöten), Anna Tuena (Perkussion, Drumset), und Esther Sévérac (Harfe). Sie spielen ihre eigenen Kompositionen und Arrangements und finden ihre Inspiration überall. Sie probieren gerne exotische Instrumente aus (Melodica, cazoo, elektrische Harfe), singen und experimentieren – sie suchen immer nach neuen originalen Projekten!

Zum Video >>>>

 

 

Orbitarium

Von dem blauen Planeten kommend, bewegt sich die Klangsonde Orbitarium, mit ihren Instrumenten Harfe, E-Bass und Schlagzeug an Bord, im interstellaren Raum. Eine Erkundung des Kosmos’ nach wandelnden Orten, unbekannten Gesetzen, unentdeckten Klangfarben, unerforschten Welten.

Zum Video >>>>

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unterricht

 

Esther Sévérac ist diplomierte Harfenlehrerin (Master in Pädagogik an der Musikhochschule Basel im Juni 2015  abgeschlossen) und unterrichtet privat in Basel, an der Académie de Musique MCA in Neuenburg und an der Musikschule Stein (AG). Sie ist für alle Musikstile offen (Klassik, Pop, Jazz, Keltisch oder anderes) und unterrichtet auf Klappen- oder Pedalharfen. Sie passt sich den Bedürfnissen und dem Rhythmus der Schüler an.

Wenn Sie Lust haben, dieses magische Instrument zu entdecken, können Sie gerne Kontakt für eine erste Probelektion aufnehmen. Musik kennt keine Altersgrenzen !

Vorteile

  • Eine Harfe wird für den Unterricht zur Verfügung gestellt
  • Unterricht kann zuhause stattfinden
  • Eine Probelektion ist frei
  • Unterricht auf französisch, deutsch oder englisch
  • Tipps für die Instrumentenpflege
  • Angenehme und fröhliche Unterrichtsatmosphäre

30 min.

50 CHF

45 min.

75 CHF

60 min.

100 CHF 

 

 

Musik

 

Domenico Scarlatti – Sonata in A-Dur K208
2019 aufgenommen

Guillaume Connesson – Toccata für Harfe
2019 aufgenommen

 

The Skye Boat Song – Outlander Musik
2019 aufgenommen

Duo Harpkissax

 

Le chien extra-terrestre
 2019 aufgenommen

Komposition von Esther für Harfe und Effekte

 

La lune est morte – Niko Seibold’s European Song Quartet
2019 aufgenommen

live @ Tis Jazz Fest Basel

 

Orbitarium live @PROGR Bern
2018 aufgenommen

Orbitarium Band – Drums, Harfe, E-bass

 Le pudding à L’Arsenic
2017 aufgenommen

les Baronnes Underground

 

 

TeleBasel  – Esther’s interview in TeleBar
2015 aufgenommen

in Vorbereitung auf das Ginastera Konzert (HSM Basel)

telebaselcapture