Welcome ! I am a harpist living in Switzerland. My musical activity goes from teaching to playing – in classical orchestra to jazz bands. Check out my next concerts and my videos and don’t hesitate to contact me for a trial harp lesson (live or online!). Enjoy the browse!

 

 

 

Next concerts

27th May 2021 Geneva Camerata www.genevacamerata.com
5th June 2021 Duo with Cécile Unternährer @Unterbäch https://sp-frauen.ch/
5th july 2021 Madame Vote! @galerie YD Neuchâtel / https://www.leslundisdesmots.ch/
7th july 2021 Madame Vote! @Punto Rosso Poschiavo / www.madamevote.com
13th july 2021 Madame Vote! @KuKaB Basel / www.madamevote.com / www.kukab.ch
14th july 2021 Madame Vote! @KuKaB Basel / www.madamevote.com / www.kukab.ch
16th july 2021 Madame Vote! @Domaine des Bonnettes Lully (GE) / www.madamevote.com

 

Pictures

Curriculum

Esther Sévérac was born in Geneva and is currently based in Basel, Switzerland, working as a free-lance harpist with a repertoire reaching from classical solo concerts to jazz ensembles. She regularly collaborates with saxophone player Niko Seibold (duo harp and saxophone Harpkissax and jazz quartet Niko Seibold’s European Song)  and flutist Anne-Lise Teruel (Duo Estival). She is also the co-founder of the music theater quartet Les Baronnes Underground (percussion, drumset, flute, harp) where she extends her capacities to singing, acting, arranging music and playing different instruments.

 

In these different ensembles she keeps experimenting with harp amplification and sound effects. Furthermore it gives her the opportunity to play in uncommon places for harpists such as Bird’s Eye Basel, Rössli Bern, Jazz Club Uster, Monkey Bar Basel, Boui Boui Festival Brenzikofen, Geneva Airport , Café Con Letras Basel, JazzCampus Basel, Giardini Incantati Poschiavo and many more. 

 

Classical performances as a soloist include collaborations with the Basel Symphony Orchestra, I Medici Orchestra Basel and Sinfonietta Dachau. She also performs harp recitals with diverse and individual programs, mixing existing harp repertoire with improvisations and singing. She’s principal harpist of the Geneva Camerata since 2019 and performs regularly with professional orchestras (Sinfonieorchester Basel, Sinfonietta Basel, Kammerorchster Basel). She was principal harp in the Swiss Youth Symphony (SJSO) from 2010 to 2015.

 

She studied the harp at the Music Academy Basel with renowned harpist Prof. Sarah O’Brien and holds two master degrees in solo harp performance and music pedagogy. She participated in masterclasses with famous harpists such as Xavier De Maistre, Isabelle Moretti, Skaila Kanga, Emmanuel Ceysson, Jana Bouskova, Ursula Holliger or Susann McDonald. She also had the opportunity to take single lessons with pianist Lester Menezes at the Jazz Campus Basel and to play in classical/jazz crossover projects conducted by Guillermo Klein. She frequently takes jazz harp lessons with Park Stickney and is a multiple participant in his workshop « Jazz Harp Camp » near Yverdon/CH. 

 

Being a very dedicated educator with a lot of experience, she teaches a number of private students in Basel in her own harp studio (www.harfenstudio.ch). Prior to her academic career as a harp student Esther earned a bachelor’s degree in multilingual communication from the University of Geneva. 

Projects

 

Solo

Esther regularly plays solo with a varied and interesting repertoire. She experiments with electronics combined with the harp and creates new music for her instrument.
View Video >>>>

 

Duo Estival

The members of the Duo Estival, which is based in Basel, are Anne-Lise Teruel (flute, alto flute, piccolo) and Esther Sévérac (pedal harp, celtic harp, voice). The two musicians met during their studies in Basel and began playing together in 2011. Since then, they have built a varied and inspired repertoire and play regularly in concert. Next to the existing repertoire for flute and harp, they play their own arrangements and are always curious to find new combinations of their different instruments.

View Video >>>>

Duo Harpkissax

Harp and Saxophone – a kiss between two worlds. Even more: classical and jazz music embrace Folk and Pop songs – delicate strings set ground for strong wooden metal and fragile wind set on fire by harp bop!

Niko Seibold – Alto & Soprano Saxophone & others
Esther Sévérac – Harp, voice, what else?

View video >>>>

 

Les Baronnes Underground

The « Baronnes Underground » are a music/theatre quartet. Band members are Cécile Unternährer (percussion, mallets), Anne-Lise Teruel (flutes), Anna Tuena (percussion, drumset), and Esther Sévérac (harp). They play their own compositions and arrangements and their inspiration comes from everywhere – they like to try other instruments (melodica, cazoo, electric harp), sing and experiment. They’re always looking for original projects and an element of surprise!

View video >>>>

Orbitarium

Coming from the blue planet with its instruments harp, bass guitar and drums on board, Orbitarium’s sound probe is moving through interstellar space. A journey through the infinite cosmos, seeking for unknown laws, transforming surroundings, undiscovered soundscapes and unexplored worlds.

View video >>>>

 

 

Teaching

 

Esther Sévérac has a Master diploma in pedagogy since june 2015. She gives private harp lessons in Basel at her own harp school Harfenstudio.ch. She also gives online lessons since they work very well and can be extremely useful to student and teacher. She is open to all musical styles (classical, pop, jazz, celtic, or other) and teaches on celtic or on pedal harps. She matches the level and pace of the learner and will adapt herself to your needs.

If you are interested in discovering this magical instrument, don’t hesitate to contact her for a first trial lesson. Learning music is without age limit !

Benefits

 

  • A harp is provided for the lessons
  • Lessons can take place online!
  • First trial lesson for CHF 40.-
  • Lessons in french, german or english
  • Advice for the instrument maintenance, tuning and position
  • Advice about harp methods and music pieces
  • Cheerful atmosphere!
  • More info: www.harfenstudio.ch

30 min.

50 CHF

45 min.

75 CHF

60 min.

100 CHF 

 

Music

 

Domenico Scarlatti – Sonata in A Major K208
recorded in 2019

Guillaume Connesson – Toccata for solo harp
recorded in 2019

 

The Skye Boat Song – Outlander Music
recorded in 2019

Duo Harpkissax

 

The alien dog
recorded in 2019

Original composition by Esther for harp & effects

La lune est morte – Niko Seibold’s European Song Quartet
recorded in 2019

live @ Tis Jazz Fest Basel

Orbitarium live @PROGR Bern
recorded in 2018

Orbitarium Band – drums, harp, e-bass

 Le pudding à L’Arsenic
recorded in 2017

performed by les Baronnes Underground

 

 

TeleBasel  – Esther’s interview in TeleBar
recorded in 2015

in preparation of the Ginastera Concerto

telebaselcapture

Esther Sévérac, tenant dans ses bras une harpe.

Esther est une harpiste professionnelle de talent basée à Bâle (Suisse). Passionnée par son art, elle donne de nombreux concerts ouverts et se déplace pour vos événements privés (mariages, dîners de galas, anniversaires, etc.). Musicienne éclectique, elle prend également des cours de chant et d’improvisation jazz, tout en exerçant une activité d’enseignante ainsi que de musicienne d’orchestre.

 

Prochains concerts

17 Juillet’18 Duo Estival TOURNEE PROVENCALE 2018! / Anne-Lise Teruel, flûte. Esther Sévérac, harpe / La Javie(F)
18 Juillet’18 Duo Estival TOURNEE PROVENCALE 2018!/ Anne-Lise Teruel, flûte. Esther Sévérac, harpe / Riez (F)
19 Juillet ’18 Duo Estival TOURNEE PROVENCALE 2018!/ Anne-Lise Teruel, flûte. Esther Sévérac, harpe / Courbons (F)
29 aug ’18 Duo Harpkissax /Niko Seibold, sax and more. Esther Sévérac, harp and more. / Café Bar La Strada (Kraftwerkinsel Birsfelden)./ http://lastrada.vulcanelli.ch
7 sept ’18 Oratorienchor Bern, Werke von Rutter, Bernstein / Heiliggeistkirche Bern / Leitung: Olga Pavlu /www.oratorienchorbern.ch
14 sept ’18 Yumi Ito Orchestra/ Hotel Reine Victoria St. Moritz / www.yumiito.ch
16 nov’ 18 Yumi Ito (voc, comp) & Esther Sévérac (harp)/5. Internationales PAM Festival: Hörmal / www.yumiito.ch
11 dec ’18 Yumi Ito Orchestra/ Waldsee, Freiburg Im Breisgau (D) / www.yumiito.ch

Photos

Curriculum

 

Esther Sévérac a grandi à Genève et habite à présent à Bâle, où elle exerce une activité concertante très variée, ayant des projets dans la musique classique ainsi que dans le jazz. Parmi ses ensembles jazz réguliers figurent le duo Harpkissax avec le saxophoniste Niko Seibold, le grand ensemble Yumi Ito Orchestra, le trio de drum’n’bass Orbitarium ainsi que le quatuor Niko Seibold’s European Song. Toujours à la recherche de nouveaux défis, elle expérimente grâce à ses projets l’amplification de la harpe et les effets sonores et a eu l’occasion de jouer dans beaucoup d’endroits peu explorés par des harpistes, comme Bird’s Eye de Bâle, Rössli de Berne, Jazz Club Uster, Monkey Bar de Bâle, Boui Boui Festival Brenzikofen, Genève Aéroport , Café Con Letras de Bâle, JazzCampus Bâle et beaucoup d’autres. 

 

Soliste et pédagogue diplômée de la Haute Ecole de Musique de Bâle dans la classe de la harpiste de renom Sarah O’Brien, ses études lui ont permis de participer à des masterclasses de harpistes célèbres tels que Xavier De Maistre, Isabelle Moretti, Skaila Kanga, Emmanuel Ceysson, Jana Bouskova, Ursula Holliger ou Susann McDonald. Elle a également eu la chance de prendre des cours au campus jazz de Bâle avec le pianiste Lester Menezes et de participer à des projets communs classique/jazz sous la direction de Guillermo Klein. Elle a appris la harpe jazz avec Park Stickney et a participé plusieurs fois à son workshop « Jazz Harp Camp » près d’Yverdon. 

 

Elle a eu l’occasion de se produire en soliste avec l’orchestre Symphonique de Bâle, l’orchestre I Medici de Bâle et le Sinfonietta Dachau. Des récitals au programme varié et personnalisé font également partie de son activité solistique.

 

Parmi ses ensembles classiques figurent le duo Estival  avec la flûtiste Anne-Lise Teruel et le duo Cordoré avec la violoncelliste Gaëlle Lefebvre. Elle a co-fondé le quatuor de théâtre musical Les Baronnes Underground (percussions, batterie, flûte, harpe) où elle étend ses capacités à jouer d’autres instruments, chanter, jouer la comédie, et arranger de la musique en plus de jouer de la harpe. 

 

Harpiste solo de l’Orchestre Symphonique Suisse des jeunes (SJSO) pendant cinq ans, elle est musicienne supplémentaire à l’Orchestre Symphonique de Bâle et il lui arrive fréquemment de jouer avec différents orchestres de la région de Bâle. Son activité de professeur de harpe lui tient à coeur: elle a un grand nombre d’élèves particuliers à Bâle ainsi qu’une classe de harpe à l’Académie de Musique MCA à Neuchâtel. Elle est également titulaire d’un Bachelor en communication multilingue de l’université de Genève. 

Projets

 

Solo

Esther se produit régulièrement en solo avec un répertoire varié et passionnant. Les pièces vont du classique au baroque en passant par le romantique, la pop, le jazz, le celtique. Elle chante parfois tout en s’accompagnant avec son instrument. Elle se déplace pour des événements privés tels que des mariages, des fêtes ou des réceptions, et donne des récitals solos.

 

 

 

solo

 

 

 Duo Estival

Le Duo Estival est basé dans la région de Bâle et est composé d’Anne-Lise Teruel (flûte traversière, flûte alto, piccolo) et d’Esther Sévérac (harpe à pédales, harpe celtique, chant). Les deux musiciennes se rencontrent dans le cadre de leurs études à la Haute Ecole de musique de Bâle en 2010 et commencent à jouer ensemble en 2011. Depuis, elles ont monté un répertoire varié et se produisent régulièrement en concert. En plus du répertoire existant pour flûte et harpe, elles jouent leurs propres arrangements et sont toujours curieuses de découvrir de nouvelles combinaisons et de nouvelles facettes de leurs instruments.

Video: Scarborough fair for piccolo, voice and harp

Duo Harpkissax

La harpe étreint le saxophone, le classique enlace le jazz – et la pop s’en mêle. La délicate résonance des cordes rencontre le timbre mat du cuivre, le chant angélique saxophonesque fait vrombir le be-bop harpistique !

 

Niko Seibold – Saxophone alto, saxophone soprano, flûte, clarinette, chant, mélodica
Esther Sévérac – Harpe, chant

Video: The Skye Boat Song for harp and soprano saxophone

 

DSC_0146 - copie

 

 

Les Baronnes Underground

Les Baronnes Underground sont un quatuor composé de Cécile Unternährer (percussions, claviers), Anne-Lise Teruel (flûte), Anna Tuena (percussions, batterie) et Esther Sévérac (harpe). Elles jouent leurs propres arrangements et leurs propres compositions, qui ont différentes sources d’inspiration (Astérix, Casse-Noisette, Mon oncle, Le grand blond avec une chaussure noire etc). En plus de jouer de leurs instruments principaux, elles chantent et expérimentent (ça rime!), que ce soit avec un mélodica, un cazou, une flûte à coulisse, une harpe amplifiée… Toujours à la recherche d’un élément de surprise, elles ne négligent pas la mise en scène dans leurs projets !

Vidéo: Le pudding à l’arsenic

https://www.facebook.com/baronnesunderground/
http://baronnes-underground.ch/

 

 

 

 

Leçons

 

Diplômée d’un Master de pédagogie de la Haute Ecole de Musique de Bâle, Esther Sévérac enseigne en privé et à l’Académie de Musique MCA à Neuchâtel. Ouverte à tous styles de musique (classique, pop, jazz, celtique, ou autres !) et à tous types de harpes (à clapets, à pédales, à simple mouvement…), elle s’adaptera à vos besoins et à votre rythme.

N’hésitez pas à la contacter pour découvrir — lors d’une première leçon gratuite — la harpe, cet instrument magique. L’apprentissage de la musique est sans limite d’âge !

Avantages

 

  • Mise à disposition d’une harpe pour les leçons
  • Déplacement éventuel à domicile
  • Première session gratuite
  • Cours en français, allemand ou anglais
  • Conseils pour l’entretien de l’instrument
  • Atmosphère détendue et joviale

 

30 min.

50 CHF

45 min.

75 CHF

60 min.

100 CHF

 

 

 

Musique

Audio

www.soundcloud.com/estherseverac

 

 Vidéo

 

Duo Harpkissax

« The Skye Boat Song », 2018

amelieaeroportcapture

 

TeleBasel Interview

« Telebar », Bâle, 2015

telebaselcapture

 

Duo Estival

« Scarborough Fair », Genève, 2014

scarboroughfaircapture

 

Harpe solo

« Toccata » de G. Connesson, Bâle, 2013

connessoncapture